Grab a book and relax this summer

Summer is a time for relaxing by the pool or the beach with a good book. The staff of the Flower Mound Public Library shares their summer book picks with us.

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

When the Richardsons’ friends attempt to adopt a Chinese-American baby, a custody battle erupts that dramatically divides the town and puts Mrs. Richardson and Mia, one of her tenants, on opposing sides. Suspicious of Mia and her motives, Mrs. Richardson becomes determined to uncover the secrets in Mia’s past. But her obsession will come at unexpected and devastating costs to her own family – and Mia’s.

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

In this unforgettable portrait of human frailty and resilience, Kristin Hannah reveals the indomitable character of the modern American pioneer and the spirit of a vanishing Alaska ― a place of incomparable beauty and danger. The Great Alone is a daring, beautiful, stay-up-all-night story about love and loss, the fight for survival, and the wildness that lives in both man and nature.

Paper Ghosts: A Novel of Suspense by Julia Heaberlin

Paper Ghosts is a gripping Texas thriller about a mysterious man who may or may not have dementia, who may or may not have a long-lost daughter, and may or may not be a serial killer – from a master of twists and turns, in the tradition of Laura Lippman and Megan Abbott.

Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward

Jojo and his toddler sister, Kayla, live with their grandparents, Mam and Pop, and the occasional presence of their drug-addicted mother, Leonie, on a farm on the Gulf Coast of Mississippi. Leonie is simultaneously tormented and comforted by visions of her dead brother, which only come to her when she’s high; Mam is dying of cancer; and quiet, steady Pop tries to run the household and teach Jojo how to be a man. When the white father of Leonie’s children is released from prison, she packs her kids and a friend into her car and sets out across the state for Parchman Farm, the Mississippi State Penitentiary, on a journey rife with danger and promise. Sing, Unburied, Sing grapples with the ugly truths at the heart of the American story and the power — and limitations — of the bonds of family.