Flower Mound Public Library Receives Excellence Award

The Flower Mound Public Library has received the 2018 Texas Achievement of Library Excellence Award. This is the 15th consecutive year the library has received the honor. Only 51 libraries out of 548 public libraries in Texas achieved this recognition this year. Flower Mound Public Library received the award based on its high level of excellence in programming and service contributing to the continued education and personal enrichment of the community.

Town Hall to Feature Work of Local Artists

The Flower Mound Town Hall soon will spotlight work from local artists. To submit your artwork for consideration, visit Flower-Mound.com/artdisplay. Every two months, the Art Selection Committee, comprising town staff and Cultural Arts Commission members, will review and approve artists’ work for display. Applications will be kept on file for two years.

Denton County Master Gardener Association Celebrates 30 Years of Service

Congratulations to the Denton County Master Gardener Association for its 30 years of service. During the March 4 Town Council meeting, Mayor Steve Dixon issued a special proclamation to the association honoring its three decades of service to the community. Members of the DCMGA work on more than 40 projects each year, educating and engaging residents in horticulture and environmental practices.

Voices of Flower Mound Presents Diamonds and Desperadoes May 4

The Voices of Flower Mound invites the community to an evening of Diamonds and Desperadoes at 7 p.m. Saturday, May 4, at Lamb of God Lutheran Church, 1401 Cross Timbers Road in Flower Mound. Tickets may be purchased in advance at VoicesOfFlowerMound.com. Tickets also may be purchased at the door the night of the concert. The Voices of Flower Mound, now in its 12th year, performs concerts annually in the spring and fall and collaborates with the Trietsch United Methodist Chancel Choir and the Flower Mound Symphony to present local patriotic and Christmas concerts, in addition to other events around the community throughout the year.

Congratulations to the Lewisville ISD Teacher of the Year Finalists

Congratulations to the 2018–19 Lewisville ISD Teacher of the Year Finalists. Secondary finalists included Kelli Green of Briarhill Middle School, Doug Emery of Career Center East, Tamara Ostrander of Huffines Middle School, Shari Mayes of Lewisville High School and Valerie Nite of LHS-Killough. Elementary Finalists included Kelli Arriola of Hebron Valley Elementary, Nancy Legg of Indian Creek Elementary, Gloria Gould of Lillie J. Jackson Early Childhood Center, Angela Cross of Polser Elementary and Bre Manuel of Timber Creek Elementary. To view a complete list of campus Teachers of the Year, visit LISD.net/Page/21734.

Forest Vista Elementary Students Collect Toys for Patients

Forest Vista Elementary School students recently held a fundraiser to collect toys for Children’s Medical Center of Dallas. Kindergarten teacher and Student Council Sponsor Sheila Loftis suggested the toy drive to her students after her daughter, Hailey, a Flower Mound High School alumna and current Lewisville ISD Extended School Day employee, pitched the idea to her. Hailey, who also runs the nonprofit organization A Sprinkle of Sunshine, connected the students with Children’s Medical Center of Dallas. Forest Vista Elementary students collected more than 2,000 toys to donate to the hospital.

Bluebonnet Elementary’s Beth Hilsabeck Helps Name New Career Centers

Bluebonnet Elementary first grade teacher Beth Hilsabeck recently was honored for helping inspire the new name for Lewisville ISD’s two career centers: Technology, Exploration and Career Center East (TECC-E) and Technology, Exploration and Career Center West (TECC-W). Beth’s name was drawn from three individuals whose submissions from a public survey were chosen for the new career center’s name. Beth received a $500 Nebraska Furniture Mart gift card. LISD Deputy Superintendent Dr. Lori Rapp, LISD Board of Trustees members, Nebraska Furniture Mart Store Director Ed Lipsett and numerous store representatives attended the celebration.

LEF Executive Director Announces Retirement

Connie Pelphrey, longtime executive director of the Lewisville ISD Education Foundation, has announced she will retire at the close of 2019. Serving as executive director for more than 14 years, she led the Lewisville ISD Education Foundation through unprecedented growth. In 2005, when Connie began working at LEF, the foundation awarded $20,000 in teacher grants and $68,450 in student scholarships. After her first year, those numbers grew by nearly 20 percent to a combined $106,874. Just last year the Lewisville ISD Education Foundation awarded $92,780 in teacher grants and $212,750 in scholarships for LISD’s graduating seniors. This year, LEF will look to award more than $228,000 in scholarships alone.

“Connie Pelphrey has been an integral part of LEF for nearly 15 years, and the Lewisville ISD Education Foundation made great strides under Connie’s leadership as executive director,” LEF Board President Michelle Cree said. “We can’t thank her enough for all that she has been able to do for the students and teachers of Lewisville ISD in her time at the helm of LEF. We wish her happiness in retirement.”


Construction is Underway on Denton County Habitat for Humanity Home

Habitat for Humanity of Denton County is busy at work on construction of the Garcia Puga family home in Sanger. Shifts through mid-June are available on the Habitat website. To sign up, visit HabitatDentonCounty.org/volunteer and select the Railroad Ave. Build (Sanger) from the “At A Build Site” tab.